comment 1

Hadley Freeman on how fashion magazines are coping with recession

The awesome Hadley Freeman commented yesterday on how the fashion press are reacting to the recession . If you don’t already read Hadley’s Guardian fashion columns then I highly recommend them – always funny, insightful and amazingly written. I would quite like to be her when I grow up.

I have to say I too have found it puzzling how we’re being encouraged to ‘invest in key designer pieces that will last, blah blah blah, instead of throwaway fashion’ – I almost failed GCSE maths but I can still work out that buying one expensive item instead of several cheap ones adds up to, ermmm, spending roughly the same amount of money surely?

But yes, I never buy fashion mags for their solid life advice (thank god, or I’d probably be homeless and anorexic). I buy them for the pretty pictures, hence why my favourite magazine is French Vogue – the only word I can make out is ‘Oui’, but just look at those amazing photos!

Unfortunately my humble little blog doesn’t have access to the photographers, outfits, models and budgets that French Vogue pours in to its photoshoots. So I’ll try my best to make the words far more useful, just to compensate.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I am a journalist living in Bristol, UK. My work has been published in The Independent, The Guardian, Dazed and Confused, Mixmag and DJ Mag, amonst others. Drop me a line at jess.fmb@gmail.com.

1 Comment so far

  1. Hadley Freeman should be as big as Anna Wintour. Seriously.
    She’s incredible. (:

    And I have to agree on every point. Woot. 😀

    xxx Amy

Leave a Reply

