comment 0

Embroidery workshop at The Makery

Last week I went to an embroidery workshop at The Makery in Bath, and I think I may have found my new hobby.

Here’s my practice hoop with the stitchs we learnt – you only need to know a few in order to create some really interesting patterns and effects. Our brilliant tutor, Suzi Bancroft, recommended we experiement with layering different colour and size stitiches to try add texture and interest to our designs.

I think embroidery is a great craft if you’re creative and want to experiment with your own designs, rather than stick to the rigidity of a pattern – it’s basically just like drawing with thread. It definitely got my brain buzzing with ideas. It’s also pretty fun feeling like a proper Edwardian lady holding your hoop!

It was also my first craft workshop (I studied textiles at school so most of my skills were gained there) and I was really impressed at how much I learnt in the few hours. As well as the stitches, Susi gave us all sorts of tips that I never would have picked up just teaching myself at home, such as a speedy way to knot thread.

I’m planning to hunt down the best YouTube tutorials of all the sticthes I learnt and compile them into a blog post sometime soon.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I am a journalist living in Bristol, UK. My work has been published in The Independent, The Guardian, Dazed and Confused, Mixmag and DJ Mag, amonst others. Drop me a line at jess.fmb@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

