comments 2

How to make a noticeboard from an old frame

pinboard edit 2-orig

I’ve been living in my new house for about two months, and a noticeboard for my room has been on my ‘to make’ list for a while. They’re generally useful for bringing your life away from the realm of chaos and back into order, plus I wanted to pin up all the many random pretty bits I manage to collect. I’d been building up a collection of tutorials on Pinterest, and eventually settled on this idea of attaching wire to an old frame. It seemed simple, straightforward, and looked pretty cool too.

Luckily I stumbled across an old picture frame, minus glass or backing, in my local antiques store – the owner seemed quite relieved that someone was taking it off his hands! So all I needed to do was buy a sheet of chicken wire from Homebase, trim it to size with wire cutters, and attach it to the back of the frame using a staple gun. Easy!

As there’s no proper fitting at the back, I cheated a bit when attaching it to the wall – I’ve simply balanced one of the wire rows on a nail that had already been hammered in. I’m pretty pleased with this new addition to my room, especially as it serves that old William Morris mantra well – it displays my collection of beautiful postcards and pictures, plus is pretty useful when it comes to general life admin and organisation.

What have you been making recently?

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I am a journalist living in Bristol, UK. My work has been published in The Independent, The Guardian, Dazed and Confused, Mixmag and DJ Mag, amonst others. Drop me a line at jess.fmb@gmail.com.

2 Comments

    • Thanks! Yes that old WM mantra is a great one to live by… Shame I have housemates and can’t go chucking out any of their stuff doesn’t fit it!

      I’ve just been reading your blog, great work – your writing is very witty πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

