comment 0

Impressions of India

Jaipur-orange-turban

Village-canal

Pushkar-pink-cow

Jodhpur-kids

Jaipur-monkey-grooming

Pushkar-old-lady

If you follow me on Instagram (and if you don’t, you’re missing out on my great caption-writing) you’ll know I’ve recently returned from a three week trip to India. It really was one of the most compelling places I’ve ever visited, and I’ve only just fully processed everything I saw and experienced.

India is a total assault on the senses. Everywhere you go there’s just so much to see; so many things competing for your attention at any one time. My Lonely Planet guidebook told me to ‘expect the unexpected’, which is a pretty good summary – it’s a place where you have to learn to roll with the metaphorical punches, cos there’s gonna be a lot of them. It’s also – of course – absolutely massive, and despite covering a lot of ground in my three weeks I feel like I barely scratched the surface.

It’s also challenging. The poverty is confrontational, touts can be nerve-frazzling, and getting around is sometimes chaotic. But it’s also filled with some of the friendliest, most hospitable people I’ve ever met, has a unique culture and history, and engages you in constant lessons.

I travelled mostly by myself, which a lot of people seemed to freak out about when I told them, but for the most part I was totally fine. I’ve picked out a few of my favourite pictures from my trip above, but I’ll be sharing more detailed posts on the places I visited over the coming weeks. If you’re feeling the urge to take the plunge and go off an adventure in 2015, or even just tick something off the bucket list, then seriously, just do it.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I am a journalist living in Bristol, UK. My work has been published in The Independent, The Guardian, Dazed and Confused, Mixmag and DJ Mag, amonst others. Drop me a line at jess.fmb@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

